Billabong Pipe Masters 2012 Kicks Off!

Courtesy of Billabong

Courtesy of Billabong

Saturday, December 8, 2012 officially  kicked off the Billabong Pro Pipe Masters 2012 competition. The Billabong Pipe Masters 2012 which is located in North Shore, Oahu, Hawaii,

has the surfing community buzzing. First of all, Pipe Masters has this dedicated or in memory of the great legend, Andy Irons, who lost his life two years ago in November, at 32, due to the hardening of arteries caused by a heart attack as stated by CNN in their article.  Which has everyone in the surfing world happy while remembering the great legend himself. I myself, have looked up to Andy Irons and one of his interviews that I look at all the time is the “I Surf Because” short film by Billabong. It shows the rawness and the passion he had for the sport.

One other buzzing news that is circulating is the “goodbye” and the retirement of a surfing legend. When you ask a non-surfer or someone who has no interest in the sport, “Who is the first person you can think of when I say surfing?” No doubt in my mind that they would immediately say, “Kelly Slater.” Yes, from a lot of articles around the web, Kelly Slater, 40, will announce his retirement from full-time competing in the sport. He is focusing on winning his 12th Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) World title. All the accomplishments that he has made, there is no doubt that he is one of my favorite surfers out there. At the very end of the competition, I think that is what people are most anticipated for. Which I call the “Goodbye.” Hey, I think I can say something dramatic like that, after all it is my blog.

So, if you want, please leave a comment or anything on your thoughts about Pipe Masters or anything surfing in general. Leave some feedback or something you would like to see on this blog. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

