HIGHLIGHT: Hawai’ian Trip to O’ahu

Photo Taken By Me: January 20th, 2012

Photo Taken By Me: January 21, 2012

I do not know why I have not posted about this yet. As you all know already, I live in an area where not many professional surfers go unless it is a competition in Santa Cruz like the O’neill Cold Water Classics that was held this past November. Back in January I was browsing the Ala Moana Center and picked up a flyer for a meet and greet with professional surfer Bruce Irons, the younger brother of the late Andy Irons and the rest of the Volcom Hawai’ian surf team.

It was an amazing honor. To be honest, I was a little starstruck and had nothing to say except. “I’m from California. Yup.” By then I had gotten most, if not all of their signatures including Bruce himself, the rising star Zeke, and JD. The whole meet and greet was a must for me and basically forced my family members to stay until 6pm to get to meet some of the influential surfers I look up to. I was able to score some free stuff including the Volcom Pipe Pro 2012 posters, and a limited edition Pip Pro 2012 T-Shirt that had all the signitures on it. It was an insane experience and I do hope I get to meet one loal pro surfer in Santa Cruz, Nat Young sometime soon. The meet and greet took place at the Local Motion shop. Thanks for tuning in!

Leave a Reply

